Dr. Krishnaswamy Kasturirangan (born October 20, 1940, Ernakulam, Kerala, India) (Malayalam) is a space scientist who headed the Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO) for over 9 years until 2003 and now M.C. P. (Nominated in Rajya Sabha) He is also the Director of National Institute of Advanced Studies, Bangalore since April 2004. He received three civil awards from the Government of India, Padma Shri (1982), Padma Bhushan (1992) and Padma Vibhushan (1992) 2000).
Dr. Krishnaswamy Kasturirangan is currently a member of the Planning Commission. Dr. Kasturirangan brilliantly conducted the Indian space program for more than 9 years before leaving office on August 27, 2003 as the President of the Indian Space Research Organization and the Secretary of the Department of Space, Government of India.
He was the director of the first ISRO satellite center where he surveyed activities related to new generation spacecraft, Indian National Satellite (INSAT-2) and Indian Remote Sensing Satellite (IRS-1A & 1B) as well as scientific satellites.
He was also the Project Director of India's first two experimental earth observation satellites, Bhaskar-I & II and later took over the overall direction of the first operational Indian remote sensing satellite, IRS-1A.
Dr. Kasturirangan earned a Bachelor of Science degree with Honors and a Master's degree in Physics from Bombay University and a doctorate degree in Experimental High Energy Astronomy in 1971 while working at the Physical Research Laboratory, Ahmedabad.
Under his leadership as president of ISRO, space programs achieved many major achievements including India's first launch vehicle, the Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV) and, more recently, the first of the highly important Geosynchronous Satellite Launch Vehicle (GSLV). Successful flight tests are included.
Additionally, he has designed, developed and launched the world's best civilian satellite, IRS-1C and 1D, along with the launch of the sea observation satellite IRS-P3 / P4, the acquisition of the second generation of INSAT satellites and the third generation launch. Maintenance work also handled. These efforts established India as the pre-eminent space-leading nation among a handful of the six major space program countries.
Dr. Kasturirangan's interests as an astronomer include research in high energy X-ray and gamma ray astronomy as well as optical astronomy. He has made extensive and significant contributions to studies related to cosmic X-ray sources, celestial gamma-rays and the influence of cosmic X-rays in the lower atmosphere.
Kasturirangan did her Bachelor of Science with Honors from Ramnarain Ruia College, Matunga, based in Mumbai, and received a Master of Science degree in Physics from the University of Mumbai. He received his doctorate degree in experimental high energy astronomy in 1971, working at the Physical Research Laboratory, Ahmedabad. He has published more than 244 papers in the fields of astronomy, space science and applications.
 He has become a former member of the Rajya Sabha from 2003 to 2009 and nowadays, he is now playing his role as a former member of the now planned Planning Commission of India. He has worked as a director of the Institute of Advanced Study, Bangalore, from April 2004 to 2009.
Significant contribution
Dr. Kasturirangan directed the Indian space program for 9 years as Chairman of ISRO and Space Commission and Secretary of Government of India in Department of Space. Earlier, when he was the director of ISRO's satellite center, Indian National Satellite (INSAT-2), Indian Remote Sensing Satellite (IRS-1A and 1B) and many other scientific satellites were developed under his supervision. He was the Project Director for India's first experimental Earth observation satellites, (Bhaskar Ekam and II).
        Under his leadership, the successful launch and operation of India's prestigious launch vehicle - Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV) and Geostationary Satellite Launch Vehicle (GSLV) took place. Under his leadership, India successfully launched Chandrayaan-1, which is seen as a milestone. Their efforts have also put India in the list of the few countries that mainly run the space program.
Honors and awards
DR . Kasturirangan is honored with Padma Shri , Padma Bhushan and Padmavibhushan He Astronomy - Science , Space Science , Space use of areas in national and international journals in 200 of more article published by you and 6 books to edit to do.
Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award in Engineering
Aerospace in Sri Hari Om Ashram Dr . Vikram Sarabhai Prize Award
Astronomy - Science in M . P . Birla Memorial Award
Applied Science in Mr. M . M . Chugani Memorial Award
Science Technology in HK . A . Firodia Award
Vishwabharati , Ratindra Award by Santiniketan
Space the area of outstanding contributions to for Dr . M . N. Saha Birth Centenary Medal.
National - International Honors

DR . Admits the Brock Medal of the International Society of Photogrammetry and Remote sonsinga , (2004)
Allan de Imil Memorial Award of the International Astronautical Federation (2004)
International Academy of Stronotiks ( IAA ), France by Theodore von Karman Award
Engineering in peace format Bhatnagar Award Astronautical Society of India in Aryabhatta T Award 2003
Asiapesifik satellite communications Council , Singapore 's Life Time Achievement Award
Indian National Science Academy (2000) by Aryabhatta team medal
Ashutosh Mukherjee Memorial Award by Indian Science Congress
Award of Jewel of Ruia by Ruia College Alumni Association , 2007
Maharana Mewar Charitable Foundation , Udaipur 2008 by Maharana Udai Singh Award 2007-08
Rajyogin Center Award , the Maharaja of Mysore , Mysore , 2008
Indian Science Congress , Shillong , 2009
HE Pjhasi Raja Charitable Trust Kerala (2005) by Science Bhushan Award etc. including many awards received by you.

  ( 12 )